Respect lasts forever

17-01-2020

Two Days before Christmas I received a call from a son of an ex-colleague and pensionado. Sadly, his father died after a long sickbed, much too young. I was the manager of his father for an extensive period in his working life, but oddly, he also started out as being my first mentor in my working life.

His fathers' request was, if I could say a few words at his funeral. Obviously, there was not a moment of doubt in my mind. Your responsibility as a manager might stop when you separate from each other, but mutual respect and shared memories always remain.

It was interesting to find out at the funeral how close the perception and reflection on his working life resembled his private life. It made me feel proud that the person I knew and worked with so closely during sometimes very intense periods, was just who he really was.

Why do I tell you this personal experience?

Actually, it made me realize once more how important it is that during your working life and specifically being a people manager, you should always be you. Only your genuine 'I' will gain respect from those that want to work for you.

Give what you want people to give you in return. Not to be always likeable, but open, directive or coaching when needed, trustful, honest, passionate, transparent, and most importantly human with his or her own emotions. One that is simply not infallible, as you will experience people in your organisation or team are as well. If you approach the people in a way that you would like to be approached, you will gain respect that lasts far beyond your working relation.

He certainly gave me a tough time learning the trade, but it also helped me to become who I am today.

It is very sad that my ex-colleague was not given a longer life, but the memories, advice and life experience he handed me, his colleagues, friends and family, will last.

Fred Bosch - About Management and more - All rights reserved 2019-2022